Sunday, January 17, 2010

Post # 50!!!

Well thanks to Jenna & Pippy for providing me with questions to answer on my 50th post!
Pippy asked:
Do you show horses? What kind and what discipline?
Unfortunately, right now I do not. I used to and will again at some point but right now I am horseless. I showed Quarter Horses from the time that I was 13 until the time that I was about 23. Before that, I had mostly ridden QH's on trails.
The bay gelding in the picture above was the horse that I trained myself. We did showmanship in AQHA as well as western pleasure and horsemanship for 4H and open shows. He had his own post that you can see here.
I was also fortunate to grow up down the road from two AQHA World Champion halter horse trainers. They trained the open weanling gelding WC this year, his name is Night Tripz. Anyway, growing up with them, I got the opportunity to show some pretty nice halter horses. I showed at the AQHYA World Show three times and the regional experience once in Columbus. The gelding above was named Tai or FSR Awesome Image. I also had two mares named Domatella (a daughter of WC Dominate Clu) and Fine By Me (by the Finest Kid).

Cutting is something that I would love to do. Cutting and working cow horse classes are so amazing. I actually rode a cutting horse in Texas when I was about 15 and it was the coolest thing I have ever done :)

Jenna asked:

What do you do for a living? Did you go to college, if so where? What do you enjoy most/least about your job?

I work for the 8th largest bank in the United States. My boss says that I am the "manager" of the business deposits in the region. Basically, I try to make our business clients happy with the bank accounts. What I enjoy the most about the job is the people that I work with. I really have an amazing group of co-workers. I also like the fact that my company is very service oriented. This year they instituted the Lighthouse Project which provided each city with a certain amount of money to do a community service project. The BG employees decided to rebuild a storage facility for a battered women and children shelter in town. It was extremely rewarding. The thing that I like least about my job is that it is very analytical and I am not. It makes things a little complicated sometimes but everything works out.

I did go to college. I graduated in 2006 from Western Kentucky University with a degree in Agricultural Business. I love WKU and am glad that we live in BG so that we are still close to the school.

Well, thanks to all of you for following my first 50 blog posts! I have enjoyed getting to know you all and really appreciate your insight and also your honesty on your blogs. I can't wait to see what the next 50 posts bring!


  1. happy 50th! ha! you look so adorable in the horse pic. i've never been on a horse. i have this fear that they'll reject me and throw me in the air so i much prefer staring at them and sometime petting their fabulous hair.

  2. Whoa Tai is Muscled UP!! If you're ever down in Arkansas, you can come to my house and ride some cutting horses! My parents have an indoor arena and they have four cutting horses they ride regularly. THey are crazy about it, I on the other hand am too scared to cut, I just ride :)

    How cool is it that your company built a storage shelter for the Battered women's shelter! I wish my company would do something like that! Work is always more fun with people you like!